11th NMRG Meeting in Osnabrück

The 11th NMRG meeting will take place in Osnabrück (Germany) on September 15-16 2002, the week after the RIPE 43 meeting in Rhodes, Greece. The meeting will start at 10:00 am on September 15th. The chair of this meeting is Aiko Pras. The local host of this meeting is the University of Osnabrück. Our contact is Jürgen Schönwälder.

Meeting Place

The meeting will be held in the University of Osnabrück. The meeting room (11/217) is located on the second floor in the main wing of the Schloß Osnabrück (which was build in 1668).

Schloß Osnabrück
Room 11/217
Neuer Graben
49069 Osnabrück

Below is a snapshot taken from the online interactive map of Osnabrück which shows some important locations. The Schloß is in the center of the map and the main train station is close to the right border where the train lines cross.

Travel Information:

Those close by in Europe should probably just jump into the train to reach Osnabrück. For those who need to fly in, you have the following options to choose from:


There are a number of hotels in Osnabrück to choose from. There is a list of hotels in Osnabrück which includes price indications and some nice photographs. However, this list only seems to be available in German. Prices usually include breakfast.

In general, everything in the city is in walking distance. There are bus stops close to all these hotels in case you need to catch one. There is a central service to book hotels in Osnbrück. You can reach this service by calling +49 541 95111-95 or by sending a FAX to +49 541 95111-20.


The meeting will focus on "web services for management". To get the meeting more productive we will invite some experts on web services from outside the NMRG.

Some of the questions that will be discussed at the meeting are:

Note that this is not the final meeting agenda; proposals for additions or modifications are welcome and should be directed to Aiko Pras.

Background Information:

For the meeting it is important that everyone has some knowledge on web services. Relevant literature includes:

  1. Randy Bush (ATT, USA)
  2. Olivier Festor (Loria, France)
  3. Mario Jeckle (Daimler-Chrysler, Germany)
  4. Jean-Philippe Martin-Flatin (CERN, Switzerland)
  5. Dave Perkins (Riverstone, USA)
  6. Aiko Pras (University of Twente, Netherlands)
  7. Juergen Schoenwaelder (University of Osnabrück, Germany)
  8. Phil Shafer (Juniper Networks, USA)
  9. Frank Strauss (Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany)
  10. Margaret Wasserman (Windriver, USA)
  11. Bert Wijnen (Lucent)