TU BRAUNSCHWEIG
| Carl-Friedrich-Gauß-Faculty | Computer Science
Informatikzentrum

Pin & Play and Call - Implementation and Evaluation of a Tangible User Interface (TUI) for Skype

Student(anonymous, Login required)
SupervisorDaniel Röhr
ProfessorProf. Dr.-Ing. Michael Beigl
IBR GroupDUS (Prof. Beigl)
TypeDiploma Thesis
Statusfinished
Start15.06.2007-02.01.2008

Thesis Type:

The thesis can be done as diploma or master's thesis.

The thesis can be done as semester thesis.

The DUS research group:

The Distributed and Ubiquitous Systems (DUS) research group works together with well-known international partners from research and industry in the field of ubiquitous and pervasive computing systems.

Ubiquitous Computing:

A vision of ubiquitous computing is the invisible computer. Computer as visible elements of our environment disappear. To the human user, the environment or everyday things become the user interface. All in one computing systems are substituted by specialized, well-designed appliances. The user no longer has the feeling to interact with a computing system but with common everyday objects in his environment.

Project Description:

Using the Pin & Play platform a physical user interface, a so-called tangible user interface (TUI) for Skype shall be developed. The implementation will be using C# and the .Net development environment running under Windows. The Pin & Play hardware platform which will be used to realize the physical controls is Pin & Play. It is described and demonstrated at www.voodooio.com.

The implementation should allow the user to exploit the advantages of a freely configurable physical user interface (e.g. the placement of the Pin & Play on the substrate, scribbleing on paper above the substrate, ...)

The Pin & Play devices shall represent the graphical user interface of Skype whereever possible and even extend it. Using e.g. the LED of the Pin & Play devices the availability of a contact can be visualized directly on the Pin & Play that represents the contact. Pressing the button then initiates the connection. The contacts can be visually and physically organized, e.g. the basic color of a pin symbolizes the type of contact (e.g. personal, business, ...), and a printed image on the button's head shows the person's face. These button can be grouped and freely arranged on the surface. Also, scribbling of notes is possible on a paper overlay of the substrate.

The implementation will be analyzed by a user study. Here, the user behavior and system usage will be researched on the following aspects:

  • speed comparison of the task "calling person X" between TUI and GUI
  • usage behavior and usage of the physical aspects of the user interface
  • usability aspects

The study will be held over a two weeks time frame. The participants will ideally NOT be computer science students (or of related natural sciences), but "ordinary" people using Skype for their communication. This will help ensuring that there is no special technology affection by the participants which could influence the results of the study.

A basic working implementation in C# already exists.

We request:

  • communication skills, creativity, self and time management
  • fluent German language skill, English a plus
  • Willingness to acquire new knowledge and its application
  • Personal initiative and presence in the research lab


last changed 2008-07-16, 11:55 by Daniel Röhr
printemailtop

TU BRAUNSCHWEIG
| Carl-Friedrich-Gauß-Fakultät | Informatik
Informatikzentrum

Pin & Play and Call - Implementierung und Evaluierung einer physikalischen Benutzerschnittstelle (TUI) für Skype

Bearbeiter (anonym, Login erforderlich)
Betreuer Daniel Röhr
Professor Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Beigl
IBR Gruppe DUS (Prof. Beigl)
Art Diplomarbeit
Status abgeschlossen
Beginn 15.06.2007-02.01.2008

Arbeitstyp:

Die ausgeschriebene Arbeit ist als Diplom- oder Masterarbeit zu vergeben.

Die ausgeschriebene Arbeit ist als Semesterarbeit zu vergeben.

Die DUS Forschungsgruppe:

Die Forschungsgruppe Distributed and Ubiquitous Systems (DUS) arbeitet mit bekannten internationalen Partnern von Universitäten und Industrie zusammen an der Erforschung von allgegenwärtiger, alldurchdringen Technologien (ubiquitous computing, pervasive computing)

Ubiquitous Computing:

Eine Vision des Ubiquitous Computing (allgegenwärtige Rechensysteme) ist es, den Computer als sichbare Interaktionsgerät verschwinden zu lassen und durch spezialisierte, intelligente Gegenstände, sog. Appliances, zu ersetzen. Der Benutzer hat nicht länger das Gefühl mit einem Rechensystem zu interagieren, sondern mit Dingen aus seiner Umgebung.

Aufgabenstellung:

Mit Hilfe der Platform Pin & Play ist eine pyhsikalische Benutzerschnittstelle für Skype zu entwickeln. Die Implementierung erfolgt unter Benutzung von C# und der .NET Entwicklungsumgebung unter MS Windows. Die zu verwendende Hardware zur Realisierung der physikalischen Benutzerschnittstelle ist Pin & Play (siehe www.voodooio.com).

Die Implementierung soll dazu dem Anwender erlauben die Vorteile einer konfigurierbaren physikalischen Benutzerschnittele zu nutzen (Anordnung der Pin & Play Devices auf dem Substrat, Anfertigung von Notizen auf einer Paperauflage über dem Substrat, etc.).

Die Pin & Play Devices sollen dabei die bekannte grafische Benutzerschnittstelle von Skype bestmöglich repräsentieren, z.B. Anzeige der Verfügbarkeit der Kontakte durch Anschalten der LED auf dem Pin & Play Device. Anrufe werden durch Klicken des Pins aufgebaut und durch erneutes Klicken abgebaut. Die Lautstärke kann durch einen Slider eingestellt werden. Die Kontakte können vom Benutzer mittels Farbkodierung gruppiert werden und mittels Bildern des Angerufenen personalisiert werden. (z.B. "grüne" Hintergrundfarbe für persönlichen Kontakte, "rote" für Kollegen).

Die Implementierung ist mit einer Benutzerstudie zu evaluieren. Zu untersuchen hierbei ist das Benutzerverhalten hinsichtlich der folgenden Aspekte:

  • Vergleich der Geschwindigkeiten zur Durchführung eines Anrufes mittels GUI und mittels TUI
  • Untersuchung des Nutzungsverhaltens des zwei-dimensionalen Platzes (werden die Pins besonders gruppiert, werden Notizen auf der Papierauflage angefertigt, ...)
  • Usability Aspekte

Die Studie soll pro Teilnehmer 2 Wochen dauern. Die Teilnehmer sollen nicht Informatik-Studenten oder Studenten verwandter Fachrichtungen sein, sondern normale Leute. Diese sind geeignet und rechtzeitig anzusprechen. Durch die Wahl der Teilnehmer soll gewährleistet werden, dass die Studienergebnisste zu stark vom persönlichen Hintergrund der Teilnehmer beeinflußt werden.

Eine Basisimplementierung (C#) existiert bereits.

A basic working implementation in C# already exists.

Wir erwarten:

  • Selbständiges Arbeiten und Zeitmanagement, kommunikative Fähigkeiten, Kreativität
  • Sehr gute Deutschkenntnisse (fliessend!), Englischkenntnisse von Vorteil
  • Bereitschaft neue Fähigkeiten zu erlernen und anzuwenden
  • Persönliche Inititative und Anwesenheit am Institut


aktualisiert am 16.07.2008, 11:55 von Daniel Röhr
printemailtop